Westlife Getting Back Together With New Music After Six Years Split

Westlife Getting Back Together With New Music After Six Years Split

Six years after they split up, Irish group Westlife are reforming.

Kian Egan, Nicky Byrne, Mark Feehily and Shane Filan are planning to release new music and will also go on tour next year, reportedly playing stadiums and arenas.

The group made the announcement in a video on social media which showed them all walking up and sitting on stools facing the camera.

"We'll be seeing you soon," they announced after reportedly signing a deal with Universal.

The reunion marks the 20th anniversary of the band starting in 1998.

But they will return without former member Brian McFadden, who left in 2004 and this week signed up to TV's Dancing On Ice.

Filan told The Sun: "We genuinely missed each other and missed the buzz of performing on stage together to all our fans.

"We still have a lot that we want to achieve as a band and we want to bring our new music to fans all over the world."

Byrne added: "While we were away, we realised what Westlife really meant to the fans - and to us."

Westlife had a string of hits including Flying Without Wings and You Raise Me Up.

They had 14 UK number one singles, seven UK number one albums and have sold 55 million records worldwide.

Their most recent album, Gravity, was released in 2010.

Sky's Enda Brady, who has spoken to members of the band, said: "They're all hugely excited about the reunion.

"They've remained the best of friends and have always been in touch, so this is no great surprise.

"There will be new music and I predict by the end of this month Westlife fans will have a new single to listen to.

"They're a great bunch of lads and their fans will be as excited as they are."

Sky News

(Excluding for the Headline, this article ("story") has not been edited by MiBiz News and is published from a web feed or sourced from the Internet.)