Stewards deliver Hulkenberg verdict after pit-lane summons

The Haas driver qualified in ninth place in China.

Stewards deliver Hulkenberg verdict after pit-lane summons
Nico Hulkenberg has been issued a reprimand over his summons for his driving in the pit-lane during Chinese Grand Prix qualifying. At the start of Q1, Hulkenberg was adjudged by the stewards to have overtaken two other cars in the fast lane - a breach of Article 34.8 of the Sporting Regulations and Appendix L, Chapter IV, Article 5 d) of the International Sporting Code. The German explained in his evidence that he asked the team if he could overtake, and was incorrectly told that he could. The stewards decided that, notwithstanding the wrong instruction, Hulkenberg "ought to have known the regulations" and not overtaken in the pit-lane. As a result, his first reprimand of the season was issued, and his ninth place safe.

(Excluding for the Headline, this article ("story") has not been edited by MiBiz News and is published from a web feed or sourced from the Internet.)